RealGM Basketball

Basketball Wiretap
Basketball news gathered from around the net.

Goran Dragic Named NBA's Most Improved Player

Goran Dragic has won the NBA's Most Improved Player of the Year award.

Klay Thompson finished second and Anthony Davis was third.

Gerald Green, DeAndre Jordan, Kyle Lowry, Blake Griffin, DeMar DeRozan and Patty Mills rounded out the top-9.

Via RealGM Staff Report

Popovich Named NBA Coach Of The Year

Gregg Popovich has been named NBA Coach of the Year for the 13-14 season. Popovich received 59 first place votes out of 124.

Jeff Hornacek placed second and Tom Thibodeau finished third.

Steve Clifford, Dwane Casey, Terry Stotts, Doc Rivers, Scott Brooks, Mark Jackson and Jason Kidd rounded out the top-10.

Via RealGM Staff Report

Joakim Noah Named Defensive Player Of The Year

Joakim Noah has been named the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year.

Noah's strong play on defense allowed the Bulls to remain a playoff team despite the season-ending injury to Derrick Rose and trade of Luol Deng.

Noah received 100 of 125 first place votes.

Roy Hibbert finished second, while DeAndre Jordan was third. Serge Ibaka, Andre Iguodala and LeBron James rounded out the top-6.

Via Aggrey Sam/Comcast

Steve Clifford, Dave Joerger Named NBA Coaches Of Month For April

Steve Clifford and Dave Joerger have been named the NBA's Eastern and Western Conference Coaches of the Month for April.

Clifford guided the Charlotte Bobcats to a 7-1 record in April.

Joerger's Memphis Grizzlies went 6-2 in the month and secured the seventh seed in the West.

Via RealGM Staff Report

Luol Deng Named Winner Of NBA's Citizenship Award

Luol Deng has been voted the 2013-14 winner of the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award.

"It's an honor to be recognized for any award, but this one is special because it represents who I am as a person and where I came from," Deng said in a statement released by the Cleveland Cavaliers. "What I'm most proud of is that my family can look back after my career is over and realize that I was able to make a difference on and off the basketball court. That is something that tells the true story as to who I am as a person, someone who cares about his community and wants to improve the lives of others."

Via RealGM Staff Report

Jeff Teague, Monta Ellis Named NBA Players Of The Week

Jeff Teague and Monta Ellis have been named the NBA's Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Week, respectively, for games Monday, April 7, through Sunday, April 13.

Teague averaged 20.25 points and 5.75 as the Hawks went 3-1 in the week.

Ellis averaged 25.7 points, 4.7 assists and 51.6 percent field-goal shooting in three games, including a 37-point performance against the Phoenix Suns

Via RealGM Staff Report

Al Jefferson, Nowitzki Named NBA Players Of The Week

Al Jefferson and Dirk Nowitzki have been named the NBA's Players of the Week.

Jefferson averaged 24.3 points and 13.0 rebounds per game last week.

Nowitzki averaged 25.3 points and 8.0 rebounds per game.

Via RealGM Staff Report

Carter-Williams, Gorgui Dieng Named Rookies Of The Month For March

Michael Carter-Williams and Gorgui Dieng have been named the NBA's Rookies of the Month for March.

Carter-Williams averaged 14.9 points, 8.4 rebounds and 6.5 assists per game in March, along with a PER of 12.5.

Dieng averaged 8.6 points and 8.3 rebounds per game in March, along with a PER of 22.8.

Via RealGM Staff Report

Durant, Al Jefferson Named NBA Players Of The Month For March

Kevin Durant and Al Jefferson have been named the NBA Players of the Month for March.

Durant averaged 34.5 points per game in March, becoming the first player since Michael Jordan in 89-90 to average at least 33 per game in three straight months. Durant had a PER of 32.8 in March, below his January mark of 37.1 though up from February's 28.4.

Jefferson averaged 24.6 points and 10.6 rebounds in March with a PER of 25.6.

Via RealGM Staff Report

Jason Kidd, Gregg Popovich Named Coaches Of Month

Jason Kidd and Gregg Popovich on Tuesday were named the NBA Eastern and Western Conference Coaches of the Month, respectively, for games played in March.

Kidd guided the Brooklyn Nets to a 12-4 record in March, and the highest winning percentage (.750) in the Eastern Conference.

Popovich led the San Antonio Spurs to an NBA-best 16-0 record in March, propelling them to a 58-16 record, tops in the NBA.

Via RealGM Staff Report

Tim Duncan, Nikola Vucevic Named NBA Players Of The Week

Tim Duncan averaged 20 points and 8.5 rebounds over the course of the week.
RSS Feed RSS Feed



Basketball Wiretap Headlines

    NBA Wiretap Headlines

      NCAA Wiretap Headlines

        MLB Wiretap Headlines

          NFL Wiretap Headlines

            NHL Wiretap Headlines

              Soccer Wiretap Headlines