Ben Hansbrough of Notre Dame has been named Big East Player of the Year.

Rick Jackson of Syracuse won Defensive Player of the Year, DePaul's Cleveland Melvin won Rookie of the Year and Dwight Hardy of St. John's won Most Improved Player honors.

Hansbrough was joined on the All-Big East First Team by Marshon Brooks (Providence), Austin Freeman (Georgetown), Ashton Gibbs (Pitt), Dwight Hardy (St. John's) and Kemba Walker (Connecticut).

On the All-Big East Second Team are Corey Fisher (Villanova), Rick Jackson (Syracuse), Darius Johnson-Odom (Marquette), Preston Knowles (Louisville) and Brad Wanamaker (Pitt).

The All-Rookie Team is comprised of Jeremy Lamb (Connecticut), Gilvydas Biruta (Rutgers), Sean Kilpatrick (Cincinnati), Melvin, Shabazz Napier (Connecticut) and Brandon Young (DePaul).

Click here for more award information from the Big East.