Chauncey Billups has won the NBA's inaugural Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award.

"What better way to honor the life-long bond that developed between Jack Twyman and Maurice Stokes than by naming this award after them," said NBA Commissioner David Stern. "The Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award recognizes friendship and selflessness among teammates and celebrates the legacy of Jack and Maurice."

In this year's award voting, Billups totaled 1,543 total points, including 64 first-place votes. Miami Heat forward Shane Battier finished second with 1,324 points (79 first-place votes), and New York Knicks guard Jason Kidd placed third with 1,048 points (42 first-place votes).