Six national high school powerhouses are set to form a national league starting in the 2021-22 season.

The National Interscholastic Basketball Conference will feature Oak Hill, Montverde, IMG Academy, La Lumiere School, Sunrise Christian Academy and Wasatch Academy, with two other schools to be announced. 

The eight teams will play a 10-game regular season, complete with a playoff schedule.

The league could expand in the upcoming year.

"The NIBC is a great thing for the players and schools involved," said Oak Hill coach Steve Smith. "The best players compete against the best players, teams play the best teams nationally, and I love coaching against the best coaches in the nation. It's a win-win for every school in the NIBC."