Monty Williams is the recipient of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2021-22 NBA Coach of the Year.

This is the first NBA Coach of the Year Award for Williams, who joins Cotton Fitzsimmons (1988-89) and Mike D’Antoni (2004-05) as head coaches to earn the honor with the Suns.

Williams received 458 points (81 first-place votes) from a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters.  Memphis Grizzlies head coach Taylor Jenkins finished in second place with 270 points (17 first-place votes).  Miami Heat head coach Erik Spoelstra finished in third place with 72 points (one first-place vote).  Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote 

Williams guided the Suns to an NBA-leading 64-18 record in the regular season, the most victories and the highest winning percentage (.780) in a season in franchise history.  Phoenix had identical 32-9 records at home and on the road.  The Suns tied for the third-most road wins and fifth-best road winning percentage (.780) in a season in NBA history. 

The Suns finished first in the NBA in net rating (+7.5), third in defensive rating (106.8) and fifth in offensive rating (114.2), making them the only team to rank in the top five in all three categories.  They were 47-0 when leading after the third quarter, the most such wins without a loss in a season in the shot clock era (which began in the 1954-55 season).