Basketball Wiretap

LeBron James Wins 16-17 Citizenship Award

May 21, 2017 10:45 PM

LeBron James has won the 2016-17 J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award as selected by the Professional Basketball Writers Association (PBWA). The honor, named after the NBA’s second commissioner, is presented annually by the PBWA to a player, coach or athletic trainer who shows outstanding service and dedication to the community.

James was one of five finalists for the award, along with New York Knicks forward Carmelo Anthony, Chicago Bulls forward Jimmy Butler, Portland Trail Blazers guard CJ McCollum and Memphis Grizzlies forward Zach Randolph. The finalists were chosen by a committee of PBWA members from a list of 26 nominees submitted by NBA teams. The winner was determined by a vote of the entire PBWA, which is composed of approximately 200 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis for newspapers, online outlets and magazines.

James is being honored for improving the educational opportunities of disadvantaged youth in his hometown of Akron, Ohio, and creating long-term change in his community.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers, NBA, NBA Award

NBA Announces Finalists For Six Major Regular Season Awards

May 20, 2017 3:06 AM

The NBA announced its finalists for six major awards for the 16-17 regular season that will be announced on Monday, June 26th.

Most Valuable Player
James Harden, Houston Rockets
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder

Rookie of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee Bucks
Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
Dario Saric, Philadelphia 76ers

Sixth Man Award
Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets
Andre Iguodala, Golden State Warriors
Lou Williams, Houston Rockets

Defensive Player of the Year
Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
Draymond Green,Golden State Warriors
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs

Most Improved Player
Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets

Coach of the Year
Mike D’Antoni, Houston Rockets
Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs
Erik Spoelstra, Miami Heat

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: NBA, NBA Award

Harden, LeBron, Westbrook, Davis, Leonard Named To All-NBA First Team

May 18, 2017 2:13 PM

Houston Rockets guard James Harden was unanimously voted to the 2016-17 All-NBA First Team, and Cleveland Cavaliers forward LeBron James matched an NBA record with his 11th First Team selection.

Harden (500 points) was the only player named to the First Team on all 100 ballots, earning First Team honors for the third time in the last four seasons. James (498 points) received 99 First Team votes, joining Kobe Bryant and Karl Malone as the only players in league history to make the All-NBA First Team 11 times.

The All-NBA First Team also features three players who were each selected to the First Team for the second time: Oklahoma City guard Russell Westbrook, who joined James in totaling 99 First Team votes and 498 points, San Antonio Spurs forward Kawhi Leonard (96 First Team votes, 490 points) and New Orleans Pelicans center Anthony Davis (45 First Team votes, 343 points).

The All-NBA Second Team includes three players making their All-NBA debuts: Milwaukee Bucks forward Giannis Antetokounmpo, Utah Jazz center Rudy Gobert and Boston Celtics guard Isaiah Thomas. They are joined by two Golden State Warriors, guard Stephen Curry (fourth All-NBA selection) and forward Kevin Durant (seventh All-NBA selection).

The All-NBA Third Team consists of forwards Jimmy Butler of the Chicago Bulls and Draymond Green of the Warriors, guards DeMar DeRozan of the Toronto Raptors and John Wall of the Washington Wizards and center DeAndre Jordan of the LA Clippers. Butler, DeRozan and Wall are first-time All-NBA selections. Green was named All-NBA for the second time, while Jordan earned his third All-NBA honor.

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team in parentheses): Karl-Anthony Towns, 50 (2); Chris Paul, 49; Marc Gasol, 48 (2); DeMarcus Cousins, 42 (2); Paul George, 40; Gordon Hayward, 27; Hassan Whiteside 18; Kyrie Irving, 14; Klay Thompson, 14; Nikola Jokic, 12 (1); Damian Lillard, 12; Paul Millsap, 3; LaMarcus Aldridge, 1; Blake Griffin, 1; Al Horford, 1.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: NBA, NBA Award

Mike D'Antoni, Erik Spoelstra Named Winners Of NBCA Coach Of The Year Award

May 8, 2017 2:25 AM

Mike D’Antoni and Erik Spoelstra have been named the co-recipients of the inaugural Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award, the National Basketball Coaches Association announced.

The Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award recognizes the dedication and hard work of NBA Head Coaches and is presented annually to a Head Coach who helps guide his players to a higher level of performance on the court and shows outstanding service and dedication to the community off the court. It honors the spirit of Michael H. Goldberg who set the standard for loyalty, integrity, love of the game, passionate representation, and tireless promotion of NBA Coaching.  It is unique in that it is the only award voted upon by the winners’ peers, the Head Coaches of all 30 NBA teams.

In addition to D’Antoni and Spoelstra, the following coaches also received votes: Scott Brooks, Dave Fizdale, Steve Kerr, Jason Kidd, Gregg Popovich, Doc Rivers and Quin Snyder.

“Congratulations to Mike and Erik on their outstanding work this year. And somewhere up above our good friend Michael Goldberg is very proud,” said Dallas Mavericks Head Coach and National Basketball Coaches Association President Rick Carlisle.

Tags: Houston Rockets, Miami Heat, NBA, NBA Award

Damian Lillard Win Magic Johnson Award

May 2, 2017 2:49 PM

Damian Lillard has won the 2016-17 Magic Johnson Award, which honors the player who best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and the public, the Professional Basketball Writers Association announced today.

Lillard helped the Trail Blazers compile a 41-41 record and earn a Western Conference playoff berth.

He finished the regular season ranked sixth in the NBA scoring, averaging 27.0 points per game. The point guard also averaged 4.9 rebounds and 5.9 assists per game.

Off the court, Lillard fostered an atmosphere of mutual respect with the media.

DeMar DeRozan of the Toronto Raptors, Paul George of the Indiana Pacers, Draymond Green of the Golden State Warriors and Paul Millsap of the Atlanta Hawks also were finalists for the award.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers, NBA, NBA Award

NBA Creates Six New Award Categories Determined By Fan Voting

Apr 27, 2017 5:16 PM

The NBA's inaugural award show will have six new awards that will be determined by fan voting.

Dunk of the Year, Best Style, Block of the Year, Assist of the Year, Game Winner of the Year and Top Performance of the Year will be included amongst the traditional categories announced on June 26th.

Dunk of the Year Candidates
Larry Nance Jr. over Brook Lopez
Zach Lavine over Alex Len
Victor Oladipo over Dwight Howard

Best Style
Iman Shumpert
Dwyane Wade
Russell Westbrook

Block of the Year
Kawhi Leonard blocks James Harden
Kristaps Porzingis blocks Spencer Dinwiddie
Hassan Whiteside blocks Pascal Siakam

Game Winner of the Year
Kyrie Irving vs. Warriors
Russell Westbrook vs. Nuggets
Tyler Ulis vs. Celtics

Top Performance of the Year
Devin Booker scores 70 points against Celtics
James Harden with 53 points, 17 assists, 16 rebounds against Knicks
Klay Thompson scores 60 in three quarters against Pacers

Assist of the Year
Draymond Green to Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant
Nikola Jokic to Wilson Chandler
Chris Paul to Brandon Bass

AJ Neuharth-Keusch/USA Today

Tags: NBA, NBA Award