The NBA players union unanimously ousted Billy Hunter as executive director on Sunday.

"We will no longer be divided, misled, misinformed. This is our union and we have taken it back," players' association president Derek Fisher said.

"We want to make it clear that we are here to serve only the best interests of the players. No threats, no lies, no distractions will stop us from serving our memberships."

In brief remarks, Fisher said a new executive committee was elected and he will remain as president.

The Spurs' Matt Bonner is vice president, Miami's James Jones is secretary-treasurer and the Nets' Jerry Stackhouse the first vice president. The Clippers' Chris Paul, Golden State's Stephen Curry, Denver's Andre Iguodala, the Hornets' Roger Mason, Jr. and the Clippers' Willie Green are vice presidents.

Hunter, who has $10.5 million remaining on his contract with the NBPA, was not welcome to the meeting.

"We do not doubt that this process will possibly continue in an ugly way," Fisher said.