October 2020 Basketball Wiretap

Lawrence Frank Named NBA Executive Of The Year

Oct 8, 2020 3:03 PM

Lawrence Frank of the Los Angeles Clippers has been named the winner of the 2019-20 NBA Basketball Executive of the Year Award, the NBA announced today. 

This is the first NBA Basketball Executive of the Year Award for Frank, who has served in the Clippers’ front office since 2016 after spending 20 years in the NBA coaching ranks.

Frank was responsible for the Clippers acquiring Kawhi Leonard and Paul George during the 2019 offseason.

Frank received 10 of 29 first-place votes and earned 61 total points from a panel of team basketball executives throughout the NBA. Oklahoma City Thunder Executive Vice President and General Manager Sam Presti finished in second place with 41 points (four first-place votes), followed by Miami Heat President Pat Riley in third place with 39 points (four first-place votes).

Rob Pelinka of the Los Angeles Lakers finished seventh in voting.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Los Angeles Clippers, NBA, NBA Award

Montrezl Harrell Wins 19-20 NBA Hustle Award

Oct 7, 2020 2:59 PM

Montrezl Harrell has won the 2019-20 NBA Hustle Award, which honors the player that makes the energy and effort plays to help his team win throughout the season.

Harrell was also named NBA Sixth Man of the Year.

Past recipients of the award:

2017: Patrick Beverley

2018: Amir Johnson

2019: Marcus Smart

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Montrezl Harrell, Los Angeles Clippers, NBA, NBA Award

Jrue Holiday Wins 19-20 Twyman-Stokes Teammate Of The Year Award

Oct 6, 2020 2:03 PM

NBA players have selected Jrue Holiday as the recipient of the 2019-20 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award, the NBA announced today.

The award, presented annually since the 2012-13 season, recognizes the player deemed the best teammate based on selfless play, on- and off-court leadership as a mentor and role model to other NBA players, and commitment and dedication to team.

More than 250 NBA players submitted their votes for the 2019-20 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award through confidential balloting conducted by the league office.  NBA players determined the winner from among the 12 nominees who were selected by a panel of league executives.

Holiday received 53 of 267 first-place votes and finished with 1,041 total points.  Philadelphia 76ers forward Tobias Harris (806 points; 48 first-place votes) and Milwaukee Bucks forward Kyle Korver (796 points; 26 first-place votes) finished in second and third place, respectively.  Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five points for each third-place vote, three points for each fourth-place vote and one point for each fifth-place vote.

In addition to Holiday, Harris and Korver, the other finalists were Dallas Mavericks guard J.J. Barea, Denver Nuggets forward Torrey Craig, Los Angeles Lakers forward Jared Dudley, Miami Heat forward Udonis Haslem, Boston Celtics forward Gordon Hayward, Toronto Raptors forward-center Serge Ibaka, Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard, San Antonio Spurs guard Patty Mills and Indiana Pacers center Myles Turner.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Jrue Holiday, New Orleans Pelicans, NBA, NBA Award

Vince Carter Wins 19-20 NBA Sportsmanship Award

Oct 1, 2020 3:13 PM

NBA players have selected Vince Carter as the recipient of the 2019-20 NBA Sportsmanship Award.

Carter, who spent the 2019-20 season with the Atlanta Hawks, announced his retirement from the NBA in June after playing a league-record 22 seasons. He receives the Joe Dumars Trophy as the winner of the NBA Sportsmanship Award. Dumars, a two-time NBA champion and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer, played 14 NBA seasons and won the inaugural Sportsmanship Award in the 1995-96 season. 

Each NBA team nominated one of its players for the NBA Sportsmanship Award, which is designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court. From the list of 30 team nominees, a panel of league executives selected one finalist from each of the NBA’s six divisions. Current NBA players selected the winner from the list of six finalists, with more than 250 players submitting their votes through confidential balloting conducted by the league office. 

In addition to Carter (Southeast Division), the other finalists were Oklahoma City Thunder center Steven Adams (Northwest), Sacramento Kings forward Harrison Barnes (Pacific), Detroit Pistons guard Langston Galloway (Central), Memphis Grizzlies guard Tyus Jones (Southwest) and Brooklyn Nets guard Garrett Temple (Atlantic). 

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Vince Carter, Atlanta Hawks, NBA, NBA Award