August 2020 Basketball Wiretap

Brandon Ingram Named 19-20 NBA's Most Improved Player

Aug 31, 2020 8:06 PM

Brandon Ingram has been named the NBA's Most Improved Player for the 19-20 season. Ingram receiving 42 of 100 first place votes, 35 second place votes and 11 second place votes.

Ingram beat out Bam Adebayo and Luka Doncic.

Jayson Tatum and Devonte Graham finished fourth and fifth.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Brandon Ingram, New Orleans Pelicans, NBA, NBA Award

Giannis Antetokounmpo Named 19-20 NBA Defensive Player Of The Year

Aug 25, 2020 6:35 PM

Giannis Antetokounmpo has been named the 2019-20 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year, the NBA announced today. This marks the first NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award for Antetokounmpo, who finished in second place last season.

Antetokounmpo received 75 first-place votes from a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters and earned 432 total points.  Los Angeles Lakers forward Anthony Davis (200 points; 14 first-place votes) and Utah Jazz center Rudy Gobert (187 points; six first-place votes) finished in second and third place, respectively.  Gobert was honored as the Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year in each of the previous two seasons.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks, NBA, NBA Award

Nick Nurse Named 2019-20 NBA Coach Of The Year

Aug 22, 2020 1:14 PM

Nick Nurse was awarded the NBA Coach of the Year for the 2019-20 season.

The Raptors went 53-19 on the season, finishing second in the Eastern Conference.

Nurse received 90 first place votes.

Mike Budenholzer and Billy Donovan rounded out the top three in voting. 

Marc Stein/The New York Times

Tags: Toronto Raptors, NBA, NBA Award

Monty Williams Voted Coach Of The Seeding Games

Aug 15, 2020 3:04 PM

Monty Williams has been named the NBA Coach of the Seeding Games with 20 of 21 first-place votes.

Terry Stotts received the other first-place vote and finished. Jacquie Vaughn finished in third place.

The Phoenix Suns went 8-0 in the seeding games.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Phoenix Suns, NBA, NBA Award

Damian Lillard Unanimously Named Player Of The Seeding Games

Aug 15, 2020 2:16 PM

Damian Lillard has been unanimously named Player of the Seeding Games. Lillard averaged an NBA-high 37.6 points and 9.6 assists in the seeding games, leading Portland to a 6-2 record.

Devin Booker and T.J. Warren finished second and third. Booker and Warren joined Lillard on the All-Seeding Games First Team along with Luka Doncic and James Harden.

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Kawhi Leonard, Caris LeVert, Michael Porter Jr. and Kristaps Porzingis were on the Second Team.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers, NBA, NBA Award

NBA To Have All-Seeding Games Team, Player Of The Seeding Games Award

Aug 11, 2020 2:56 PM

The NBA will have an All-Seeding Games Team and Player of the Seeding Games to honor the top performers for games played between July 30th and August 14th.

A panel of sportswriters and broadcasters who have been on site covering the season restart will select the teams.

Each team is playing eight seeding games. 

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: NBA, NBA Award

Giannis Antetokounmpo, LeBron James, James Harden Announced As Finalists For MVP

Aug 8, 2020 1:07 PM

The NBA released its list of awards finalists for this season, including Giannis Antetokounmpo, LeBron James, and James Harden as finalists for MVP.

Other finalists include Ja Morant, Kendrick Nunn, and Zion Williamson for Rookie of the Year, and Antetokounmpo, Rudy Gobert, and Anthony Davis for Defensive Player of the Year.

Bubble games will not count towards voting, with the winners announced during the playoffs. 

The complete list can be seen here

Tags: Giannis Antetokounmpo, LeBron James, James Harden, Houston Rockets, Los Angeles Lakers, Milwaukee Bucks, NBA, NBA Award

Mike Budenholzer, Billy Donovan Named Co-Coaches Of The Year By NBCA

Aug 3, 2020 12:46 PM

Mike Budenholzer and Billy Donovan are the 2020 recipients of the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award, the National Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

The Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award recognizes the dedication, commitment and hard work of NBA Head Coaches and is presented annually to a Head Coach who helps guide his players to a higher level of performance on the court and shows outstanding service and dedication to the community off the court. It honors the spirit of Michael H. Goldberg, the esteemed long-time Executive Director of the NBCA, who set the standard for loyalty, integrity, love of the game, passionate representation and tireless promotion of NBA coaching. It is unique in that it is the only award voted upon by the winners’ peers, the Head Coaches of all 30 NBA teams. This year’s voting was based on games played from the start of the 2019-20 regular season through games played on March 11.

The depth of coaching excellence in the NBA is reflected in this year’s voting as 8 Head Coaches received votes. In addition to Budenholzer and Donovan, the following Coaches also received votes: Taylor Jenkins, Nate McMillan, Nick Nurse, Erik Spoelstra, Brad Stevens and Frank Vogel.

RealGM Staff Report

Tags: Milwaukee Bucks, Oklahoma City Thunder, NBA, NBA Award